The Uniform Athlete Agents Act of 2004 was signed into law September 8, 2004. It requires that all athlete agents operating in this State file with the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs. The filing fee is $500.00 per agent and the renewal filing fee is $300.00 per agent.
- "Want to Go Pro?" A Guide for Student-Athlete's (PDF) - Under South Carolina law, Athlete Agents recruiting or soliciting a student-athlete must register with the South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA). This law provides guidelines agents must follow and gives rights to the student-athletes they contact. This flyer provides the top 10 things athletes should know before they sign the dotted line with an athlete agent.