Skip to main content
The Official Web Site of the State of South Carolina

The Department of Consumer Affairs is working remotely for the safety of our employees and customers. You can still file a complaint and submit applications for licensing online.

You can also email general questions to or leave a voicemail by calling (803) 734-0359. We will return calls and emails as soon as possible. Thank you for your patience!

For COVID-19 resources for businesses and consumers, visit the COVID-19 Resources page.

Commission on Consumer Affairs

The Commission on Consumer Affairs is composed of nine members, one of whom is the Secretary of State. Of the remaining eight members, the General Assembly elects four other members from outside the legislature and the Governor appoints four members whose appointments are confirmed by the Senate. The Commission is the policy making and governing authority of the S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs, appoints the Administrator and is responsible for enforcement of the S.C. Consumer Protection Code. As of the date of this report, the members of the S.C. Commission on Consumer Affairs are:

David Campbell, Columbia

Secretary of State, Ex Officio Member
Mark Hammond, Spartanburg 

William Geddings, Florence

James E. Lewis, Jr., Myrtle Beach

Renee I. Madden, Columbia

W. Fred Pennington, Jr., Taylors

Jack Pressly, Columbia 

Lawrence D. Sullivan, Summerville


Commission members with expired terms who do not resign continue to serve until reappointed or replaced.

The S.C. Department of Consumer Affairs' Commission meets the second Tuesday of the month at 1:00 p.m. These meetings are held in the Department's Conference Room at 293 Greystone Blvd., 4th floor.  All meetings are open to the public.  For more information contact (803) 734-4233.