

NEWS FROM SCDCA

SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS

Carri Grube Lybarker, Administrator

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

June 13, 2016 | Release #16-013 Contact: Juliana Harris, (803) 734-4296

Legislative Update: Motor Vehicle Closing Fee Law Amendments

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs (SCDCA) is announcing amendments to the motor vehicle closing fee law.

Under the new law, closing fees in the amount of \$225 or less are automatically considered reasonable and are not subject to further review by the Department. Closing fees in excess of \$225 are subject to review by the Department for reasonableness. Consumers should note that dealers are not required to charge this fee, but are permitted to under the law.

All motor vehicle dealers charging closing fees on a motor vehicle sales contract have until **July 3, 2016** to comply with recent amendments to the closing fee law. Any dealer who filed a closing fee this year and wishes to continue to charge such a fee after July 3rd must submit a renewal Motor Vehicle Filing Form along with a ten dollar filing fee to the Department before the deadline. The requirement to include the closing fee in the advertised price, disclose it on a sales contract and display it in a conspicuous location in the dealership remains unchanged.

Updated filing forms are available on the Department's website. Access the forms by visiting www.consumer.sc.gov and clicking "Business/ Industry Information," then "Motor Vehicle Dealer Closing Fees."

About SCDCA

The South Carolina Department of Consumer Affairs aims to protect consumers from inequities in the marketplace through advocacy, complaint mediation, enforcement and education. To file a complaint or get information on consumer issues, visit www.consumer.sc.gov or call toll-free, 1-800-922-1594.